Association Awards

To honour the outstanding achievements of Institute's alumni, the Association Committee created the Alumni Awards in four categories.

  • Alumnus of the Year
  • Young Alumnus
  • Commitment to the Institute and Alumni Association
  • Lifetime Professional Achievement

Not all awards will be given every year. Laureates will be selected by members of the Committee by vote and will be invited to attend the awards ceremony and gala dinner of the Alumni Reunion in Geneva on the 2nd of November .

To nominate a fellow alumnus, please send your proposals before May 20th using the form below. Send any questions to

Alumnus of the Year

Recognises the outstanding achievement of an alumnus in his field within the last year. Consideration is given to alumni who have won honours in their field or who have been recognised nationally or internationally.

Winner 2016

Lora Pappa ('88), Founder and President of the Greek NGO METAdrasi-Action for Migration and Development.

Young Alumnus

Recognises the outstanding achievement of a young alumnus in his field, whether through professional achievement or community service. The recipient must be 40 years or under at the time of nomination.

Winner 2017

Samar Hasan ('07), Founder and CEO of Epiphany.

Winner 2016

Brindusa Burrows ('05), Founder & CEO of The Ground_Up Project.

Commitment to the Institute and Alumni Association

Recognises the extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the Institute and Alumni Association by an alumnus through his volunteerism, dedication, philanthropy and commitment to its values.

Winner 2018

Paul Mathieu ('87), Advisor at the International Monetary Fund and President of the Institute Alumni Association.

Winner 2017

Jacques Moreillon ('71), former Director General and member of the Assembly Council of the ICRC, former President of the Institute Alumni Association.

Winner 2016

Michel Barde ('75), former member of the Board of Directors of the HEI Foundation and former President of the Association of HEI Alumni.

Lifetime Professional Achievement

Recognises an alumnus who has demonstrated excellence and achievement in his distinguished career; has demonstrated leadership in their profession; has made a positive contribution to the prestige, influence and reputation of the Institute; and exercises a strong positive influence within the community.

Winner 2018

Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf ('80), President of the International Court of Justice.

Winner 2017

Georges Abi-Saab ('67), Honorary Professor, International Law.