Core Staff

Oliver Photo.jpg
More info

 

Oliver Jütersonke
Head of Research

Email: oliver.jutersonke@graduateinstitute.ch
Phone : +41 (0)22 908 57 36

  • Peacebuilding and the complex relationships between security and development, with a focus on sovereignty, statebuilding and the politics of intervention;
  • The social and spatial dynamics of urban violence, and linkages with security perceptions, institutional design, and security sector governance;
  • The history of the field of International Relations, and its relation to the social sciences, law and philosophy – with a particular focus on political and legal realism;
  • Epistemology and research methods in the context of basic and applied projects in international affairs and development.
     

More info

 

Muriel Esposito
Operations Coordinator 


Email: muriel.esposito@graduateinstitute.ch
Phone: +41 (0)22 908 57 41

  • Ethnography and identity construction in militaristic societies
  • Asylum seekers, refugees and undocumented migrants in the context of access to justice, integration in their receiving state and administrative detention
  • Coordination and multi-channel communication
     

KG_Web3-x.jpgMore info

 

Kathryn Gichini
Research Assistant


Email: kathryn.gichini@graduateinstitute.ch
Phone: +41 (0)22 908 57 38

  • International Migration
  • Migration and Development
  • Poverty and Development
  • Diaspora and Development
  • The Caribbean and Sub-Saharan Africa
     

3D4A4194 copy.jpg

More info

 

Darine Atwa
Research Assistant


Email: darine.atwa@graduateinstitute.ch
Phone: +41 (0)22 908 5887

  • Politics of the Middle East
  • Conflict analysis
  • International Law and armed conflict
  • Roles and effects of social media
  • Political psychology
  • Epistemic injustice

 

Project-Related Staff

Jonathan Austin photo.jpg
More info
 

Jonathan Luke Austin
Postdoctoral Researcher


Email: jonathan.austin@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Violence prevention
  • Ontologies of violence
  • The nature of critique
  • Middle Eastern Politics
  • Social Theory / philosophy
  • Literature, aesthetics, and World Politics
     
Matthew Bamber 100x150.jpg
More info
 

Matthew Bamber
Doctoral Researcher


Email: matthew.bamber@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Rebel Governance
  • Terrorism and Political Violence
  • State-Building
  • Rebel Groups
  • Middle East and North Africa
  • Political Islam
  • Islamic State/ISIS/Al Qaeda
     

Photo Janine Bressmer.png

More info

 

Janine Bressmer
Doctoral Researcher

Email: janine.bressmer@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Securitization of the humanitarian space
  • Spatial manifestations of aid delivery
  • Risk management in humanitarian action
  • Critical security studies
  • State fragility and conflict, post-conflict reconstruction
  • Development, cooperation, and international aid policies
     

Xinyu Yuan.jpg

More info

 

Xinyu Yuan
Doctoral Researcher

Email: xinyu.yuan@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Civil society empowerment
  • International Organizations
  • Norm-making and diffusion
  • Foreign assistance
     
Basil Farraj 150x100.jpg
More info
 

Basil Farraj
Research Assistant

Email: basil.farraj@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Violence and torture of prisoners: ways in which torture/violence is inflicted on prisoners' bodies; ways in which their rights are denied and ignored
  • Circulation of torture practices
  • Prisoners' ways of resistance, and tracing changes in forms of resistance
  • Circulation of knowledge guiding resistance within and outside prisons
  • Sites of memory
  • Cinematic representations of prisons, and of violent pasts
     
100x150 HAN_Seoni.jpgMore info  

Seoni Han
Research Assistant

Email: seoni.han@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Applied microeconomics
  • Conflicts, Agriculture, and Health
     
     

Kazushige Kobayashi.jpg

More info

 

Kazushige Kobayashi
Postdoctoral Researcher

Email: kazushige.kobayashi@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Foreign and economic policy of the Russian Federation
  • Politics and economics of Eurasian integration
  • Global and international governance
  • International organizations and security institutions
  • International Relations theory
  • International and regional order
     
Stephanie Perazzone.jpg
More info
 

Stéphanie Perazzone
Doctoral Researcher

Email: stephanie.perazzone@graduateinstitute.ch

  • International security promotion
  • Peacebuilding / statebuilding
  • Disarmament, Demobilisation, Reintegration (DDR)
  • Urban studies
  • Anthropology of the State
  • Africa's Great Lakes Region
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
     

Matthieu Bolay

More info

 

Matthieu Bolay
Postdoctoral Researcher

Email: matthieu.bolay@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Extractive industries, gold and diamond mining
  • Labour im/mobility and labour temporalities
  • Global supply chains
  • Socio-technical approaches
  • Education
  • West Africa, in particular Guinea and Mali
     
Defne Gonenc.jpg
More info
 

Defne Gonenc
Research Assistant

Email: defne.gonenc@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Environment and development
  • Global environmental politics
  • Environmental justice
  • Political economy of developing countries
  • India and Turkey
     

Rahul_Mehrotra 150x100.jpg

More info

  Rahul Mehrotra
Postdoctoral Researcher and Project Coordinator

Email: rahul.mehrotra@graduateinstitute.ch
  • Development economics
  • Natural resource governance
  • Applied econometrics
     

Photo_Siddhant_Marur.jpg

More info

 

Siddhant Marur
Research Assistant

Email: siddhant.marur@graduateinstitute.ch

  • Development economics
  • Conflict economics
  • Applied econometrics
  • Natural resource governance
     

Achim-Wennmann-150x100.jpg
More info

 

 

Achim Wennmann
Senior Researcher, CCDP
Executive Coordinator, Geneva Peacebuilding Platform

Email: achim.wennmann@graduateinstitute.ch
Phone : +41 (0)22 908 58 04

  • Dynamics of violent conflict and peacemaking
  • Armed groups and conflict financing
  • Conflict prevention and armed violence reduction
  • State fragility and hybrid political orders
  • The private sector in complex markets
  • Natural resource management in peacebuilding contexts