ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2017-2018 AND 2018-2019

The academic year is divided into two semesters. The first runs from September to December and the second from February to June. With the exception of those employed by the Institute (for example assistants), students are not required to remain on campus during the break.

 

AUTUMN SEMESTER 2017-2018

  • Monday 18 September 2017 to Friday 16 February 2018

 

REGISTRATION AT THE INSTITUTE

  • Tuesday 29 August to Friday 22 September 2017

INFORMATION SESSIONS

  • Monday 18 September 2017

FIRST DAY OF CLASSES

  • Tuesday 19 September 2017

LAST DAY OF CLASSES

  • Friday 22 December 2017

END OF THE SEMESTER

  • Friday 16 February 2018

SPRING SEMESTER 2018

  • Monday 19 February 2018 to Friday 14 September 2018

FIRST DAY OF CLASSES

  • Monday 19 February 2018

EASTER BREAK

  • Friday 30 March  to Sunday 8 April 2018

LAST DAY OF CLASSES

  • Friday 1 June 2018

END OF THE SEMESTER

  • Friday 14 September 2018

MASTER AND PhD GRADUATION CEREMONY

  • Friday 14 September 2018

 

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS IN GENEVA

The Institute will be closed on the following dates :

2017

  • Thursday 7 September (Jeûne Genevois)

  • Monday 25 December (Christmas Day)

  • Sunday 31 December (Restoration of the Geneva Republic)

2018

  • Monday 1 January (New Year’s Day)

  • Friday 30 March and Monday 2 April (Easter Friday / Monday)

  • Tuesday 1 May (Labour Day)

  • Thursday 10 May (Ascension)

  • Monday 21 May (Pentecost or Whit Monday)

  • Wednesday 1 August (Swiss National Day)

  • Thursday 6 September (Jeûne Genevois)

 

AUTUMN SEMESTER 2018-2019

  • Monday 17 September 2018 to Friday 15 February 2019

REGISTRATION AT THE INSTITUTE

  • Tuesday 28 August to Friday 21 September 2018

INFORMATION SESSIONS

  • Monday 17 September 2018

FIRST DAY OF CLASSES

  • Tuesday 18 September 2018

LAST DAY OF CLASSES

  • Friday 21 December 2018

END OF THE SEMESTER

  • Friday 15 February 2019

SPRING SEMESTER 2019

  • Monday 18 February 2019 to Friday 13 September 2019

FIRST DAY OF CLASSES

  • Monday 18 February 2019

EASTER BREAK

  • Friday 19 to Sunday 28 April 2019

LAST DAY OF CLASSES

  • Friday 31 May 2019

END OF THE SEMESTER

  • Friday 13 September 2019

MASTER AND PhD GRADUATION CEREMONY

  • Friday 13 September 2019

 

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS IN GENEVA

The Institute will be closed on the following dates :

2018

  • Thursday 6 September (Jeûne Genevois)
  • Tuesday 25 December (Christmas Day)
  • Monday 31 December (Restoration of the Geneva Republic)

 

2019

  • Tuesday 1 January (New Year’s Day)
  • Friday 19 April and Monday 22 April (Easter Friday / Monday)
  • Wednesday 1 May (Labour Day)
  • Thursday 30 May (Ascension)
  • Monday 10 June (Pentecost or Whit Monday)
  • Thursday 1 August (Swiss National Day)
  • Thursday 5 September (Jeûne Genevois)