Academic Awards and Prizes

The Paul Guggenheim Prize in International Law


The Paul Guggenheim Foundation was created in 1979 to honour the memory of Professor Paul Guggenheim, an eminent scholar of international law and professor at the Graduate Institute. Every two years, the Paul Guggenheim Prize rewards a young specialist in the field of international law, author of a first monograph of outstanding quality on a subject of general interest and likely to make a real contribution to the study of international law.

The 2019 edition of the Paul Guggenheim Prize is currently accepting applications. Closing date: 31 May 2019.


The Paul Guggenheim Prize 2017 has been attributed jointly to:

Download the press release.


The Arditi Prize in International Relations


In 1993, the Arditi Foundation created the Arditi Prize in International Relations, which is awarded to the best master’s dissertation in International Studies or International Affairs.

  • Prize-winner 2018: Ms Cecilia Truffer (Master in Anthropology and Sociology)
  • Dissertation: "The Rohingyas beyond Domination and Resistance: A Case Study on Refugees' Innovative Strategies "


The Mariano Garcia Rubio Prize


The Mariano Garcia Rubio Prize was created in May 2004 to honour the memory of a former assistant in the International Law Department. It is awarded each year to a student who writes the best master’s dissertation in International Law.

  • Prize-winner 2018: Ms Serena Ariello (Master in International Law)
  • Dissertation: Global Crises and International Legal Change 


The Institute's Alumni Association Prize


This prize was established by the Alumni Association to reward a student from the Institute who prepares the most outstanding PhD thesis. It is awarded every year by each academic unit in turn.

  • Prize-winner 2018: Mr Diego Enrique Silva Garzon (PhD in Anthropology and Sociology)
  • Thesis: "Protecting the Vital: Analyzing the Relationship Between Agricultural Biosafety and the Commodification of Genetically Modified Cotton Seeds in Colombia"



The Pierre du Bois Prize


This annual prize, created by the Fondation Pierre du Bois pour l'histoire du temps présent, rewards a student who prepares the best PhD thesis in International History and Politics presented at the Institute.

  • Prize-winner 2018: Dr Caio Simões De Araújo (PhD in International History)
  • Thesis: "Diplomacy of Blood and Fire: Portuguese Decolonization and the Race Question, ca. 1945-1968"