Exigences linguistiques

L’Institut est bilingue anglais-français, mais la vaste majorité des enseignements sont donnés en anglais. Chacun peut s’exprimer par oral et par écrit soit en anglais soit en français.

L’Institut valorise la diversité du monde et encourage la candidature d'étudiants qui n'ont pas de connaissance préalable du français ou n'en ont qu'une connaissance élémentaire. Il est heureux d'admettre ces étudiants s'ils s'engagent à suivre un cours gratuit de français. La connaissance du français n’est ni une condition d’admission, ni une condition d’obtention du diplôme.

Anglais

  • Une excellente maîtrise de l’anglais est exigée de tous les étudiants.
  • Les étudiants dont la langue maternelle n’est pas l’anglais, ou qui n’ont pas fait des études de niveau secondaire ou post-secondaire ou encore suivi pendant un an au minimum un programme d’études en anglais, doivent démontrer leur maîtrise de l’anglais par un certificat. 
     
Test acceptés Résultat requis
TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language).  
Internet-test 100
Paper-test 600
Computer based test 250
IELTS (International English Language Testing System) 7.0
CPE (Certificate of Proficiency in English)
(Cambridge English, part of the University of Cambridge)
A-B-C
CAE (Cambridge Advanced English)
(Cambridge English, part of the University of Cambridge)
AB

 

Français

  • Les étudiants sans connaissance préalable du français doivent suivre un cours intensif de français de trois semaines avant le début du premier semestre (l’inscription doit être faite au moment de la candidature en ligne), puis un cours hebdomadaire pendant les deux premiers semestres d’études (ces deux cours sont organisés par l’Institut et sont gratuits). Au début du troisième semestre, ils passent le test de français. En cas d’échec, ils le repassent au début du quatrième semestre.
  • Les étudiants qui ont une connaissance limitée du français s’inscrivent à un test de français au moment de la candidature en ligne. Le test a lieu durant la première semaine d’études. En cas d’échec, ils doivent suivre un cours gratuit de français pendant les deux premiers semestres d’études et repassent le test au début du troisième semestre.
  • Ces conditions ne s'appliquent pas aux étudiants dont le français est la langue maternelle, ou en possession d'un diplôme d’études secondaires ou post-secondaires totalement en français, ou ayant suivi un programme d’études universitaire d’au moins une année totalement en français, ou pouvant produire un certificat de langue française équivalent à un niveau DELF B2.

Language requirements

The Institute has an English-French bilingual teaching policy. However, most of the classes are taught in English. Students can speak and write in either English or French.

The Institute values diversity and encourages students with no prior knowledge or only a basic knowledge of French to apply.  We are happy to grant these students a place, if they undertake to attend a free French course. Knowledge of French is not an admission condition or a condition for being awarded a diploma.

English

  • All students must have an excellent command of English.
     
  • Students whose mother tongue is not English, who do not have secondary or post-secondary qualifications taught in English, or who have not spent a minimum of one year studying full time at university level in English, must provide a certificate to prove their mastery of English.  
Recognised tests Required score
TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language).  
Internet-test 100
Paper-test 600
Computer based test 250
IELTS (International English Language Testing System) 7.0
CPE (Certificate of Proficiency in English)
(Cambridge English, part of the University of Cambridge)
A-B-C
CAE (Cambridge Advanced English)
(Cambridge English, part of the University of Cambridge)
AB


French

  • Students with weak or no prior knowledge of French must take an intensive French course, lasting three weeks before the start of the first semester. They must register for this course at the time of their online application. This intensive course will be followed by a weekly course during the first year.
    These courses are organised by the Institute and are free of charge.
    At the start of the third semester, these students have to sit a French test. In case of failure, they can retest at the start of their fourth semester.
     
  • Students with basic knowledge of French must register for a French test at the time of their online application. This test takes place during the first week of the academic year. Students who fail this test take a French course, organised by the Institute, free of charge, during their first year of study. They can retest at the start of their third semester.
     
  • The above conditions do not apply to students whose mother tongue is French; or who have a secondary or post-secondary diploma taught entirely in French; or who have spent a minimum of one academic year studying at university level, full time, entirely in French; or who can produce a French language certificate equivalent to a DELF B1 level.