We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2012 APSUN Award:

The award was distributed during the APSUN Annual Conference on 31 October 2012. Congratulations to Jaci and Dmitriy for their outstanding essays!


The APSUN Award was created to promote innovation and quality in research on the United Nations or a related topic.  It is presented during the APSUN annual conference to a Master- or Bachelor-student and a PhD student.

The Award was created in April 2008 and can be obtained in conjunction with other scholarships and fellowships. Each price amounts to 2'000 CHF.

The winning essays can be published on the APSUN website (see previous winners).


Applicants must be registered at a Swiss institution for higher education (Bachelor, Master or PhD level).

Candidates for the Award should specialise in the fields of international relations, political sciences, international law, international economics or history. Students specialising in other disciplines such as political philosophy, or environmental sciences/politics are also encouraged to apply given that their research is related to the United Nations.


The prize rewards an outstanding essay which combines both innovation and excellence and which serves as a catalyst for wider discussion. The evaluation is mainly based on the clear demonstration of a direct link to issues of concern for the Academic Platform Switzerland UN. Further criteria include the originality of the chosen topic, the heuristic contribution of the essay, its scientific rigour and editorial quality.

The essay is to be written in English, French, German or Italian and cannot have been previously published. The essay should not exceed 5’000 words.

Selection Criteria:

  • research topic related to the United Nations
  • innovation, originality, quality
  • heuristic contribution
  • scientific methods
  • outstanding editorial quality
  • written in English, French, German or Italian
  • has not been published previously
  • does not exceed 5’000 words


The next APSUN Award will be given in 2013.