Le Conseil de fondation


                      soiron_100.jpg           

Rolf Soiron

Président du Conseil de fondation

Rolf Soiron est un industriel suisse . Il  préside actuellement le Conseil d'administration de Lonza et a siégé ou présidé dans les Conseils de Holcim, Synthes et autres. Son expérience internationale couvre un nombre de secteurs variés. Il est membre du Conseil de l’Assemblée du Comité international de la Croix-Rouge.  Il a présidé pendant dix ans le Conseil de l’Université de Bâle et a été élu plusieurs fois à des fonctions politiques communales et cantonales. Il a aussi présidé le conseil du think tank «Avenir Suisse».

   

Beth Krasna

Vice-présidente du Conseil de fondation

Beth Krasna est membre du Conseil des Ecoles polytechniques fédérales depuis 2003 et présidente du comité d’audit depuis 2008. Elle siège aux conseils d’administration de Bonnard & Gardel Holding SA, de Coop, de Raymond Weil SA et de Symbiotics SA. Depuis mai 2014 elle est CEO de The Roberto Giori Company Ltd. Beth  Krasna est également membre de l’Académie suisse des sciences techniques. Elle a un diplôme en génie chimique de l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Zurich (EPFZ) et un MBA de la Sloan School du Massachussetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

   
Atinc_photo.jpg

Tamar Manuelyan Atinc

Avec plus de 30 ans d'expérience dans la mise en œuvre de politiques et programmes de développement, Tamar Manuelyan Atinc est une professionnelle dans son domaine. Durant sa longue carrière à la Banque mondiale, elle a été vice-présidente du développement humain et a travaillé dans trois régions – Europe et Asie centrale, Asie de l’Est et Pacifique, et Afrique – pour faire avancer les politiques et programmes par pays visant à promouvoir le développement humain, réduire la pauvreté et améliorer la gestion économique. Depuis 2013, elle est chercheuse invitée à la Brookings Institution. Ses recherches récentes portent principalement sur l’amélioration du développement de la petite enfance, les contrats à impact social (social impact bonds) et les données et la responsabilité pour une éducation plus efficace. Elle a également travaillé à Genève pour l’Accord général sur le commerce et les tarifs (GATT) et à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED). De nationalité turque, Mme Atinc est diplômée de l’Université Harvard et de la Kennedy School of Government de Harvard.

   

Jacques Forster

Jusqu’en 2010, Jacques Forster a été membre du Comité international de la Croix-Rouge, dont il a été vice-président de 1999 à 2007. Entre 2007 et 2010, il a été vice-président du Conseil de fondation de l’Institut et, de 1977 à 2006, professeur à l’Institut universitaire d’études du développement (IUED), qu’il dirigea de 1980 à 1992. Titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences économiques de l’Université de Neuchâtel (Suisse), Jacques Forster a collaboré pendant dix ans au sein de la coopération suisse au développement. Il est l’auteur de publications sur les relations Nord/Sud et la coopération internationale au développement.

   

Annemarie Huber-Hotz

Annemarie Huber-Hotz est présidente de la Croix-Rouge suisse depuis 2011. Elle a été chancelière de la Confédération entre 2000 et 2007. De 1992 à 1999, elle a été secrétaire générale de l’Assemblée fédérale, dont elle a auparavant dirigé le service scientifique et fonctionné comme secrétaire du Conseil des Etats. Elle a fait des études de psychologie, de sociologie, d’ethnologie et de philosophie à l’Université d’Uppsala, en Suède, et de sciences politiques à l’Institut. Mme Huber-Hotz a également suivi des études post-grade en aménagement du territoire à l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Zurich (EPFZ).

   

Joëlle Kuntz

Joëlle Kuntz est journaliste et éditorialiste au quotidien suisse Le Temps. Elle est l’auteur notamment de Genève, histoire d’une vocation internationale (Zoé, Genève, 2010), L’histoire suisse en un clin d’œil (Zoé, Genève, 2006) et Adieu à Terminus : réflexions sur les frontières d’un monde globalisé (Hachette Littératures, Paris, 2004).

 

   

Carlos Lopes

Carlos Lopes est professeur auprès de la faculté de commerce de l’Université de Cape Town et Visiting Fellow à la Oxford Martin School de l’Université d’Oxford. Il a servi les Nations Unies dans plusieurs positions, y inclus coordonnateur résident au Zimbabwe et au Brésil, directeur pour les politiques de développement au PNUD, directeur des affaires politiques pour le secrétaire général Kofi Annan, ainsi que directeur exécutif de l'UNITAR et de l'École de Cadres des Nations Unies. Entre 2012 et  2016, il a été secrétaire général adjoint des Nations Unies et secrétaire exécutif de la Commission Économique pour l'Afrique. Il a enseigné dans plusieurs universités comme professeur invité et fait partie d'une dizaine de conseils d'institutions académiques. M. Lopes a publié 22 livres sur les thématiques du développement et l'Afrique. Il a un doctorat en histoire de l'Université de Paris 1, Panthéon-Sorbonne et reçu des doctorats Honoris Causa de l’Université Candido Mendes, à Rio de Janeiro, l’Université de Hawassa en Ethiopie et de l’Université Polytechnique du Mozambique.

   

Jacques Marcovitch

Jacques Marcovitch est professeur de gestion et d’affaires internationales à l’Université de São Paulo (Brésil) et membre du Global Agenda Council for the Future of Latin America du Forum économique mondial (Genève). Il a été recteur de l’Université de São Paulo, président d’Electric Utilities de l’Etat de São Paulo et directeur de l’Institute for Advanced Studies de l’Université de São Paulo. Sa recherche et ses publications portent sur les questions environnementales, l’entrepreneuriat et l’Amérique latine.

   

Robert Roth

Robert Roth est professeur ordinaire à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Genève et a été doyen de cette faculté de 2003 à 2007. Il a présidé de 2011 à 2013 la Chambre de première instance du Tribunal spécial pour le Liban. Il est spécialiste de droit pénal  international, européen et suisse.

 

   

Isabelle Werenfels

Isabelle Werenfels est responsable de la division de la recherche sur le Moyen-Orient et l'Afrique à la Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) à Berlin et enseigne à la Freie Universität Berlin. De 2008 à 2010, elle a coprésidé la Commission d’étude euro-méditerranéenne. Avant de rejoindre la SWP en 2001, elle a dirigé la délégation suisse de la Présence internationale temporaire à Hébron et a été auparavant rédactrice à la radio suisse DRS2. Elle a publié sur une grande variété de sujets, dont les processus de transformation en Afrique du Nord, les mouvements islamistes et la coopération euro-méditerranéenne. Isabelle Werenfels est titulaire d’un master de la School of Oriental and African Studies à Londres et d’un doctorat en sciences politiques de la Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Foundation Board


                 soiron_100.jpg             

Rolf Soiron

Chairman of the Foundation Board

Rolf Soiron, Swiss entrepreneur, is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Lonza and has served or chaired the Boards of Directors of Holcim, Synthes and others. His international experience covers a wide-range of industrial and financial sectors. He chaired the Council of Basel University for 10 years and has held several elected political positions at the communal and cantonal levels. He is member of the Assembly of the International Committee of the Red Cross Council and chairs the Board of the think-tank Avenir Suisse.
   

Beth Krasna

Vice-Chairwoman of the Foundation Board

Beth Krasna has been a member of the Board of the Swiss Federal Institutes of Technology Domain since 2003 and the President of the Board’s Audit Committee since 2008. She is also a member of the Boards of Directors at Bonnard & Gardel Holding, Coop, Raymond Weil and Symbiotics SA. Since May 2014, she is CEO of The Roberto Giori Company Ltd. Beth Krasna is also a member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences. Ms Krasna has a degree in chemical engineering from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich and an MBA from the Sloan School at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

   
Atinc_photo.jpg

Tamar Manuelyan Atinc

Tamar Manuelyan Atinc is a development professional with over 30 years of experience in the analysis and implementation of development policies and programmes. During her long career at the World Bank, she was Vice President for Human Development and served in three regions, including Europe and Central Asia, East Asia and the Pacific, and Africa, working to advance country policy and programmes to foster human development, reduce poverty and improve economic management. She is a visiting fellow at the Brookings Institution since 2013. Her recent research has focused primarily on scaling up early childhood development, social impact bonds, and data and accountability for better education outcomes. She also worked in Geneva at the General Agreement on Trade and Tariffs (GATT) and the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTD).  A Turkish national, Ms Atinc has undergraduate and graduate degrees from Harvard University and the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard.

   

Jacques Forster

Jacques Forster was a member of the Assembly of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) until 2010 and was its Vice-President from 1999 until 2007. He was Vice-Chairman of the Institute's Foundation Board from 2007 until 2010. From 1977 to 2006, he was professor at the Graduate Institute of Development Studies (IUED) where he was Director from 1980 until 1992. He holds a PhD in Economics from the University of Neuchatel and worked with the Swiss Agency for Cooperation and Development for over a decade. He has authored several publications on north/south relations and international development cooperation.
   

Annemarie Huber-Hotz

Annemarie Huber-Hotz has been President of the Swiss Red Cross since 2011. She was Federal Chancellor of Switzerland between 2000 and 2007 and Secretary General of the Swiss Parliament between 1992 and 1999. Before that, Ms Huber-Hotz was Director of the parliamentary scientific service and Secretary of the Swiss Senate. She studied philosophy, psychology, sociology, ethnology and political science at the University of Uppsala in Sweden and political science at the Graduate Institute. She complemented her education by studying spatial planning at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich.

   

Joëlle Kuntz

Journalist and columnist with a long-standing affiliation to the Swiss daily newspaper Le Temps, Joëlle Kuntz is the author of "Genève, Histoire d’une vocation internationale", (published by Zoé, Geneva, 2010) a brief history of Switzerland (“The History of Switzerland in the Blink of an Eye”, published by Zoé, Geneva, 2006) and an essay on borders (“Adieu à Terminus”, published by Hachette Littératures, Paris, 2004).

 

   
 

Carlos Lopes

Carlos Lopes is currently Professor at the Faculty of Commerce, University of Cape Town and Visiting Fellow at Oxford Martin School, University of Oxford. He has served the UN in senior positions for over 25 years, including Resident Coordinator in Zimbabwe and Brazil, head of development policy at UN Development Programme, Director of Political Affairs for Secretary General Kofi Annan and Executive Director for UNITAR and the UN System Staff College and between 2012 and 2016 as Under Secretary General and Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa. He has taught in several Universities as guest professor and is a member of about ten academic boards. Mr Lopes has published 22 books on development and African issues. He holds a PhD in History from University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne and has been awarded Doctorates Honoris Causa from University Candido Mendes, Rio de Janeiro, Hawassa University in Ethiopia and Polytechnic University in Mozambique.

   

Jacques Marcovitch

Jacques Marcovitch is Professor of Management and International Affairs at the University of São Paulo in Brazil and a member of the Global Agenda Council for the Future of Latin America at the World Economic Forum in Geneva. His past appointments include Rector of the University of São Paulo, President of Electric Utilities of the State of São Paulo and Director of the Institute for Advanced Studies, University of São Paulo. His research and publications focus on environmental challenges, entrepreneurship and Latin America.

   

Julia Marton-Lefèvre

Julia Marton-Lefèvre is former Director of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature. Previously, she was Rector at the University of Peace, Director-General of Leadership for the Environment and Development (LEAD) and Director-General of the International Council for Science. In 2016, she will be the Edward Bass Distinguished Visiting Fellow in Environment at Yale University.

 

   

Robert Roth

Robert Roth is Professor at the law faculty of the University of Geneva and has been dean of this faculty from 2003 to 2007. From 2011 to 2013, he chaired the Trial Chamber of the Special Tribunal for Lebanon. He He specialises in Swiss, European and International criminal law.

 

   

Isabelle Werenfels

Isabelle Werenfels is head of the Middle East and Africa Research Division at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP) in Berlin, and lectures at the Freie Universität Berlin. Before joining the SWP in 2001, she headed the Swiss Delegation to the “Temporary International Presence in the City of Hebron”. Prior to that, she worked as an editor for Swiss Radio DRS2. She has written widely on a variety of topics including transformation processes in North Africa, Islamist movements, and Euro-Mediterranean co-operation. From 2008 to 2010, she co-chaird the Euro-Mediterranean Study Commission. Ms Werenfels holds an MSc from the School of Oriental and African Studies in London and a PhD in Political Science from Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.